Recognizing employee service

May 2018     No Comments

With a bright sun shining down on a 70+ degree day outside, the smiles of employees past and present shined just as bright inside a multipurpose room of the Student Center May 8, as friends and co-workers gathered to recognize the accomplishments of the faculty and staff of SUNY Poly at the 2018 Employee Recognition Luncheon.

With a menu that ranged from Greek salads to pasta to roast beef, and Interim Chief Operating Officer and Chief of Staff Michael Frame acting as Master of Ceremonies, employees hitting milestone years in their career at SUNY Poly were honored for their work.


10-Year Service award recipients

  • Scott M. Baker – Facilities
  • Ian Sean Brucker – University Police
  • Megan Lynne Dischiavo – College of Arts & Sciences
  • Melissa Beth Eaton – Registrar
  • Doreen S. Rocca – Admissions
  • Timothy J. Stolo – University Police
  • David Lerman – Small Business Development Center


15-Year Service award recipients

  • Joseph K. Colone – University Police
  • Daryl E. Lee – College of Arts & Sciences
  • Patricia E. Murphy – College of Arts & Sciences
  • Veronica J. Tichenor – College of Health Sciences
  • Frederick A. Wolfe – College of Engineering


20-Year Service award recipients

  • Lisa C. Berardino – College of Business Management
  • Gale A. Broadbent – University Police
  • Maureen E. Cool – Residential Life
  • Angelina Mercurio – Athletics
  • Zora Thomova – College of Arts & Sciences
  • Shih-Yung Yeh – College of Business Management
  • Diana DiPrimo – Auxiliary Services Corporation


25-Year Service award recipients

  • Maarten Heyboer – College of Arts & Sciences
  • William J. Thistleton – College of Arts & Sciences
  • Suzann Kimak – Institutional Research


30-Year Service award recipients

  • Douglas M. Brown – Facilities
  • Steven J. Perta – Instructional Resources


35-Year Service award recipients

  • Jorge E. Novillo – College of Engineering


40-Year Service award recipients

  • William L. Langdon – College of Business Management
  • Paul H. Schulman – College of Arts & Sciences


10-Years or More Adjunct Service award recipients

  • Jikyong C. Adair – College of Arts & Sciences
  • Catherine A. Cooney – College of Arts & Sciences
  • Stephen Darman – College of Arts & Sciences
  • Lawrence Dillon – College of Business Management
  • Peter M. Edic – College of Engineering
  • Elizabeth S. Fortino – College of Health Sciences
  • Kenneth Giffune – College of Business Management
  • Kevin A. Kwiat – College of Engineering
  • Mark Medici – College of Arts & Sciences
  • Brett Y. Smolenski – College of Engineering
  • Janice M. Squadrito – College of Arts & Sciences
  • Joseph J. Stanco – College of Engineering
  • John J. Wever – College of Arts & Sciences


Also recognized during the ceremony were the 2018 Faculty and Staff Chancellor’s Award Winners, including Lisa Capuana, Secretary 1 for Excellence in Classified Service and Michael Durr, Grounds and Custodial Supervisor for Excellence in Professional Service.

Additional Chancellor’s Award winners include Associate Professor of Nanobioscience Nathaniel C. Cady for Excellence in Scholarship & Creative Activities and Professor of Nanobioscience Robert L. Brainard for Excellence in Teaching.

Assistant Professor for College of Engineering Michael Reale was recognized for being voted Professor of the Year by the Student Government at Utica.